Ego-Puncture: How not to ‘Propose’ to a Girl!


I have conveyed the existence of feeling of love/quasi-love (infatuation, for the mere lesser mortals) to human female subjects on eight occasions, of which two occasions have been just online. Mind you, all of those instances are not the same as pathetic whining of “I love you, so you must love me back in return, or else I will get mad and kill myself, your father and your neighbor’s cat in that order”-kind that passes off as ‘proposing love’. I am full of self-respect, so I don’t ask for favors, that too off a female, and that shows. No wonder, most of the aforementioned female subjects have concurred.

Being a human male, I believe I am a gift to the womankind, which anyway, all the males are. So obviously, I possess passable flirting skills, but which are unfortunately annulled by my fetish for honesty.

Samples:

– 1 –

The girl – ‘G1′ and I are seated outside the college, looking straight ahead, which did not happen to be straight into each others’ eyes for the simple geometrical fact that we were seated on the same bench, with me contemplating our future ahead, and she… also, contemplating our future ahead, more precisely when could she muster sufficient audacity to ask me to go to hell (a.k.a. the boys’ hostel [for strange reasons that I am still unaware of, never called the “Gents’ hostel”]), and so she could, to her ladies’ hostel.

I: You see G1, we’ve known each other for so long…
G1: How long?
I: Like… 3 weeks?
G1: So?
I: Have you noticed how close we have grown?

She tentatively slides across the bench farther away from me by half a foot. So, now we are like two feet apart. She visually estimates the distance between us to ensure it is safe enough. Distance makes the heart grow fonder, they say. But kindly notice, the ‘heart’ is in singular.

G1: Hmm…
I: …So, I think I have developed some feelings for you.

Now she shows greater interest, which she indicates by turning her head 5ยฐ to the left. Yes, I was also seated to her left.

G1: Feelings?…
I: Yeah, you know those special feelings…
G1: Don’t be nervous. It’s alright, tell me.
I: Nervous? I thought you would be nervous with my telling you this! I was planning to tell you for so long… But you know, na, G1, this is my first time. You’re getting what I mean to say? Please understand, you must have gone through all this many times before, right?

Now she looks at me, smiles and her cheeks turn red. Then, she lowers her gaze and asks me coyly…

G1: I think I can guess it…You mean to say, you love me, Ketan? Ketan, you really love me?

By now she is quite excited, blushing even harder and looking at me expectantly…

I: Well, sort of.

Okay, okay, I made it up… well, sort of. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But, the next two accounts are for real. I promise! ๐Ÿ˜€

– 2 –

G2, the girl and I were standing outside the college building. Just a few minutes back, I had asked her to come to a ‘khopcha’ snatching her from the grip of her excessively sticky friends. She had in good humor excused her friends by saying, “excuse me, we are going on a date”. Now, that was the easy part. With her standing before me, I was at loss as to what to say. You know, that one thing you say, and the life would never be the same again between those two people. Any emotion felt, would be in its extremes thereon.

Let me first tell you what her response had been, and what happened following that. She had said, “Ketan, if at all I feel like marrying someday, it is only you I can think of at this stage in life”. She had said that without my asking what she felt about me. I was relieved, no great damage had been done. We had carried on for around 6 months, then owing to some bitter differences between us we had parted ways, but amicably so. Somehow, all my relations have been platonic and perhaps, that is why partings have been amicable.

Anyway, what I had told her was, hold your breath… “As of now there are three girls that I think of as my prospective life partners, and you’re one of them!”. And no, I am not lying. This is the 100% truth. Go figure!

– 3 –

This was during my internship. And I was infatuated (click) by my co-intern. She was about to leave for Mumbai in next 3-4 days for good. This was a stage when I had come out of a very emotionally wrecking break up just 5 months back. I had not at all been prepared to invest my emotions in anyone. So actually, my liking for this girl was pretty shallow. In fact, I did not fancy her companionship much.

So, in one of the night duties in the casualty department, we were seated across the table, and following is what I had told her. She had somewhat known about my breakup.

“Now that you’d be leaving in a few days, let me tell you something that is not very important, but I still wanted to tell you. If possible, forget it as soon as you hear, because it is just one of my silly impulses that I’m telling you this… that I have developed a crush on you, but it’s nothing serious as it’s mostly because of how you look!!!”

She was quite taken aback, but she had held onto her composure. So, she did not immediately appreciate how funny the situation was back then, but in retrospect I realize that was a very foolish thing to say, and for some people, even hurting. But I was carried away by my desire to convince her that my feelings were not serious at all. And of course, I was being honest in what I said. ๐Ÿ™‚

Those were the three accounts I wanted to publish here. I consider myself lucky that these girls had borne my eccentricity with elan, and for which I will always remain grateful. My problem with how I deal with the feeling of love is that I cannot see it as some kind of game to be ‘won’ at all costs. I think of love in very idealistic/romantic terms. My belief is, if I am to any degree less than honest with the person to who I express my love, then firstly, I am myself not considering the self to be worthy of her love, and further if there is reciprocation of feelings, then it would be for the person I had pretended to be, rather than the person I would be. Many might find this ‘too’ idealistic. But I have one pragmatic reason also to be like that: even with greatest degree of honesty, people after settling in a relationship discover irritating/unsavory things about each other. But if two people are as honest as possible, then, at least they have an option of not entering the said relationship, and moreover, if they wish to enter it they know a few things they will have to put up with or compromise upon, and hence they could be mentally prepared. So, honesty at the early stage of or before a relationship begins is better for its longevity (assuming, that is one of the goals, which somehow it has been in my case). And conversely, a relationship built with concealment of significant traits of oneself is very apt to reach a state where unanticipated compromises would be involved, and both the partners would have to rather put up with each others’ company, than enjoy it. Of course, parting would be an option, but with that lot of emotional adjustments would have to be made. And lastly, not to mention, there is certain degree of comfort one feels on being honest – one does not have to be constantly pressured to remember which mask to done. ๐Ÿ™‚

The purpose of above examples was not to portray my behavior as exemplary. In fact, I was going to just stop at the third account; this explanation was an afterthought.

Of course, the above analysis is largely my speculation, because fortunately, to whatever degree I have been in two relations (of which one was with G2 above), none of the persons involved have required to be very pretentious or overtly dishonest, so I have no personal experience to be sure that highest degree of honesty is the best policy to ‘kick-start’ a relationship.

Readers’ views are, of course, most welcome. ๐Ÿ™‚

43 thoughts on “Ego-Puncture: How not to ‘Propose’ to a Girl!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ego-Puncture: How not to โ€˜Proposeโ€™ a Girl! ยซ Neglected Serendipity -- Topsy.com

  2. A good read. Honesty is the foundation stone of any relationship, if compromised shatters the whole relationship. There are other factors too, as there is no specific law to this, simply for the fact that different humans have different priorities. But yes, honesty is must, honesty with oneself and honesty with the person one intends to be in a relationship. Messages apart, I enjoyed the post also for it refreshed my memories…………sorry, I don’t intend to write anything more on that. Enjoyed it!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Akhtar,

      Welcome to the new blog!

      It’s a tad unfortunate that what was meant to be a largely funny post, was seen to be so serious.

      Yes, there are no specific laws as to what sustains a relationship; I think it depends upon the temperament of two people involved.

      And c’mon, you must share your memories. ๐Ÿ˜€ Hoping to see them on your blog. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. Not that I want to nitpick, but shudnt this be called “How not to ‘Propose’ to a girl!”? And this was interesting to read actually, especially since I am of the opinion that ‘radical honesty’ really is not the best means of sustaining a romantic relationship..I really always believed some things are best left unsaid..and as for the ‘pretending to be someone you’re not’ part, I think the reason we, or atleast I, do it is to make a good impression, to not disappoint expectations and such. But you know what, the ideal wud, of course, be to share one’s love with someone who is capable of loving one for what one truly is..but whether that is practically feasible is the question..

    I find that statement you make about “donning masks” rather intriguing..especially since one of my favourite quotes goes “Love takes off masks we fear we cannot live without and know we cannot bear to live within.”

    Now if such a love were to be found, it wud be most extraordinarily precious, no?

    • TUIB,

      Hahaha! You’re most welcome to nitpick. The other way of putting it is, I love attention! ๐Ÿ˜› Actually, I’d initially kept “to” after “propose”, but somehow it didn’t sound proper, then I removed it.

      “I think the reason we, or atleast I, do it is to make a good impression, to not disappoint expectations and such.”

      Actually, that’s been one of my points, but discussed from opposite perspective. If to make a good impression, I form one which is not ‘me’, then I would have to sustain that impression and keep on pretending. There are two problems with this: pretense would have to be sustained and is stressful in the longer run, and second, the expectations are very likely to remain the same, and along with that if impression changes, then there would be disappointment from the other side. Whereas, if I reveal myself honestly, then the other person would anyway know, which of the expectations are unlikely to be fulfilled. Plus, there is an entirely different issue of doing all this to one I consider most valuable. I think how one looks at the last thing, is most dependent on how different people view love, what purpose it serves in their lives.’

      “Now if such a love were to be found, it wud be most extraordinarily precious, no?’

      Yes, of course, such an extraordinary person would never be found, but then I think there are people who do fall between ordinary and extraordinary, especially so, if they find you more than ordinary. ๐Ÿ™‚

      And since the word “honesty” was involved, I hope it was not seen as sanctimonious. It was never meant to be that way. I don’t think of honesty as much of a virtue unless and until it serves a higher purpose. You might know this from my post on ‘moral brainteaser’ (involving a poor person stealing from a rich, corrupt person to save the ife of his daughter).

      And last but not the least, the reason I had done this post was because I thought the above instances were funny. At least, all my friends find them funny! ๐Ÿ˜€ I guess, my using the ‘humor’ tad didn’t help. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      Also, I see that all the male commentators have tended see the humorous aspect, but most females have seen the ideological aspect? ๐Ÿ™‚ Was it because females felt it to be some kind of male chauvinism? If that’s the case, then I must firmly affirm that what I wrote in the opening paragraph was pure sarcasm… well almost! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks for reading and your insight. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Strange that it didnt sound proper becoz the grammatical error was the first thing I noticed..I must be a terrible nitpicker ๐Ÿ˜€ so thanks for humouring me! The way I look at it is actually making a good first impression and then taking it from there. Perhaps, when people get to know you better they wud be more lenient with the flaws that you understandably hid from them initially, atleast that is how I have always seen it work.

        To expect otherwise, seems overly and foolishly idealistic. But maybe sometimes that folly is worth making.

        And I did not mean the epithet of extraordinary to lie with the person but with the love that one might share with a regular, more-or-less ordinary person. Like they say, there’s no perfect person out there, there’s only a person who’s mostly perfect for you. (well, thats the fantasy certain movies and books wud have us believe. perhaps, real life is more of a compromise, I dunno.)

        Oh, and I think they were very funny but the ideological aspect really cannot be ignored. Perhaps, the reason female readers did that, was as a means to gain a somewhat deeper understanding of the male psyche. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        And the sarcasm’s pretty obvious when a man declares himself to be a gift to all womankind, especially obvious to women. Becoz even the exaggerated chauvinism of that statement is a little too incredible. ๐Ÿ˜€

        • TUIB,

          When I talked of “not sounding proper”, I didnt’ mean it in terms of grammar, but the colloquial manner in which use the term ‘propose’ in Mumbai (and perhaps, even elsewhere in India) –> “Maine usko aaj propose maara” or “Maine usse propose kiya”. Because, I don’t know if “propose love” would be a correct usage, whereas “propose marriage” would be. Because to be honest, I really don’t know what is the meaning of “proposing love”???!!! I mean, one could just say that one loves somebody, then what. The idea that simply expressing one’s love for the other has implicit “request” to love back is very silly. Not surprisingly, both G2 and G3 ended up telling me what they had felt about me, without even my asking. So, I was sort of taking a dig at the expression “maine propose maara”! ๐Ÿ˜‰ But when you pointed out the error, my first instinct was of restoring the title to the original as I consider you quite well read and knowledgeable in English (and its grammar). But to be honest, despite searching a bit on net I am yet not decided if ‘propose a girl’ is entirely incorrect! ๐Ÿ˜€

          Also, perhaps I did not make it clear in the post that G2 and I were pretty good friends by the time that ‘proposing’ thing happened. Otherwise, I am no Adonis (please believe I am not; disbelieving would put lot of burden of expectation on me and consequent performance anxiety) for her to say that I was the only person she thought of as worthy of marrying at the time of saying that! ๐Ÿ˜›

          As you must know from my tag on 15 honest things about myself, I’m quite comfortable with easy lying in real life. My degree of honesty keeps on increasing as I know a person better and assess them as worthy of being honest with, in which case usually the other person would have also had sufficient opportunities to assess me and forgive me for my deficiencies if they wish to “make me their life partner”! *blush* *blush*.

          Yes, I quite agree with the idea that it’s difficult to find ‘perfect’ love (even with the definition of ‘perfect’ being hinged on mutual compatibility). And no, if I find a person so worthy of my love, then that automatically makes the person extraordinary for me! See, how much of an egoist I am (blame it on Ayn Rand! ๐Ÿ˜› ). But seriously, that is what I had meant by “extraordinary” in my above comment.

          I pity the females who might wish to understand the male psychology from what I write in a post tagged ‘humor’! ๐Ÿ˜›

          And what TUIB, you actually fell for my diplomatic clarification that “gift” thing was sarcasm???!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ That was actually my sales’ pitch! ๐Ÿ˜‰

          Thanks, again!

          • Haha, well I agree to that, to “propose love” is rather absurd..but I think it shud be professing love and “proposing a relationship”. Now does that appeal to your colloquial propriety? ๐Ÿ˜€ I guess that “maine propose maara” is as much of a uniquely Indian English grammatical oddity as such other fine examples as “prepone”, “luck by chance” and others.

            And I think while not much insight might possibly derived, female readers are definitely making an attempt, you cud definitely question the logic of that..but I guess, it’s more instinctive than anything else..

            And that flexible honesty is certainly more realistic..and especially characteristic of a lot of Indian medical students, just take a look at the stuff we fill our journals with (I just got all of mine signed and stamped today!) ๐Ÿ˜€

            I, myself, really dont consider anyone I associate with extraordinary simply by the virtue of my association with them, I guess that is why Rand never made much of an impression on me, I am much too self-deprecating for my own good. Anyway, I guess even an egotist should stick to that sales pitch in these times of post-feminism..;)

            • LOL @ “colloquial propriety”. One of the best oxymorons I have come across. Or wait, is it our conditioning that makes us think that what is ‘colloquial’ is not ‘proper’? ๐Ÿ™‚

              Yes, flexible honesty is needed given how the world is. To get a bit philosophical (yet again!), just see where the chain of dishonesty begins in case of practical journal-completion. Why do teachers make us write something that in no way determines how good professionals we end up becoming?

              Hahaha! “Post-feminism” what is that? I think different people are differently feminist at different times under different circumstances. But yes, I’m an egotist all the time. ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. An interesting read…

    I agree with tangled up in blue – too much honesty is not good…I mean, what if my husband and I were in the midst of a romantic dinner and I told him I was thinking of my first love?

    Yes, you should be honest with your personality but you should not blurt out everything you are thinking of…

    • sraboneyghose,

      Welcome to the blog!

      I think my criterion to tell something would be whether I would myself consider it significant or not. If I am having a romantic dinner with my wife and if I instead get (fond) thoughts of my first love, then I would know that there’s something wrong with our relationship.

      And ideally I would like the relationship to reach a stage where my wife and I can discuss such things without inhibitions. ๐Ÿ™‚ Of course, I don’t know if such things are realistically possible, but my attitude would be, if it can happen with me, then it is alright if it happens with her.

      Thanks for commenting! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hmmm I’m too idealistic and don’t agree with the two comments above..
    I’m extremely honest about everything when I’m with people who mean a lot to me (I pretend in front of others, though). I mean, these people are supposed to be my ‘soulmate’/best friends and if I have to pretend in front of them, then I guess something is wrong.
    Small things like pretending to love a football match is quite okay but if I’m thinking about my first love during a romantic dinner with my husband then I would just say it.

    I know people will find this foolish and stupid but that’s the way I’m. Can’t help it ๐Ÿ™‚

    • sushmita,

      I get what you are saying but sometimes things happen…For instance, many people fantasize about others while being intimate with their partner – should they be honest about it?

      • Hmm I would. It is weird but that is what I believe in. Of course I understand your point of view too ๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes you just can’t be THAT MUCH honest ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Sushmita,

      Welcome to the blog!

      I think a lot depends on what kind of persons the two people are. There’s no standard formula as to how to make a relationship successful. If a person in the process of being optimally honest feels too suffocated, then in the long run, such relationship is not good for them. In fact, even without their realization they would start projecting their disappointment on their spouse and find the relationship not worthy of the emotional effort.

      But on the other hand, if someone is comfortable with keeping a few significant things to themselves, and yet feel close to their spouse, being guilt-free, then there is no harm in doing so.

      But of course, one has to also factor in what one’s spouse is like. Do they have the empathy to understand you? Or are they alright with your lying? Of course, the worst combination is a spouse who expects you to be honest and yet cannot digest the bitter truth! ๐Ÿ˜›

      Thanks a lot for commenting!

  6. Haha… Nice to know that about you. I wonder what the other six cases would be like. You know, you are indeed the type of person I had imagined of you, in this particular regard. Not taking romantic love as a game, and screwing up thereby. That’s exactly the reason I have also had similar experiences. Platonic is the word.

    In the past it used to hurt seeing how honesty never worked… but I must say, now that I have understood love very well that I am very much contented with it and feel no difference between reciprocal and platonic love. Both give equal pleasure. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And yes, what you have put in the “afterthoughts” makes good sense. Good that you didn’t leave it after giving the the accounts.

    • I read the discussion above and just felt like adding here that I don’t believe in “life-partnership” or “forever” or “meant for each-others” kind of relationships.

      When people don’t show 100% honesty it’s because they fear losing the one they love. I think if that be the case then it’s better to lose! Such love is out of one’s own need of filling one’s loneliness. When I feel love for someone it is not because I am lonely and I want that person in my life for that reason. I like that person for her qualities and enjoy her company. If she is not with me, I am not going to feel miserable. And that is the reason I said platonic and reciprocal love both give equal pleasure to me.

      It is a recent development in me as a result of many experiences and what I call “spiritual development” process. And I am very glad about it.

      Ketan, hope you are getting it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Darshan,

        I think we’ve discussed this before. I do feel that one of the goals of a relationship is its longevity. One of the reasons is the obligation of working for welfare of children (if one gets married and produces them in the first place). Second is the fact that at least I expect myself to keep on valuing same/similar things in people, and I also assume that if I have liked a person after careful observation, then, there is no reason they would change radically. To be added to all this are the fact that with time there is overwhelming emotional dependence.

        I feel this dependence develops because we feel an overwhelming need to be liked by the one we like ourselves, which we take as an approval of our existence (of course, this is an idea I have discussed with you and many others quite often priorly).

        When I said “platonic love” I meant, one without involving sexual activity! ๐Ÿ˜›

        I cannot persist with unrequited ‘love’ for long, in fact I would find it difficult to call love – I would merely call it admiration or aspiration.

        What you call spiritual detachment, I call ‘detachment’, which is perhaps an outcome of nihilism. Whereas, my nihilism has led me to paradoxical hedonism! ๐Ÿ˜›

        Thanks for reading and commenting!

        • Okay!

          1. I missed on the meaning of “platonic”. I thought it meant un-reciprocated. And I meant it in that way.

          2. I mean “love” as a heightened state of liking, or admiration, whatever. Nothing else. I have expressed my idea of love here. Only if you have time. I understand the time-crunch as I too am going through one. ๐Ÿ™‚

          3. Love which is generally meant by people is this “emotional dependence” types. The intense desire to be liked by someone we like. I call it “obsessive love” and see it as a disorder, and a result of spiritual weakness. It’s needing/using that person to fills our own loneliness. Aloneness is the reality and when one is comfortable with that, one is spiritually developed.

          5. I don’t denounce romantic relationships though but the understanding of “why” the relationships exists (that is, mutual admiration) is a must. There shouldn’t be a disorder-like, delusive state where one starts expecting crazy devotion from the partner based on the crazy belief like so-thought “soul-mates”, and “meant to be each other” and “forever love” etc. Only then when the admiration is no more mutual, people should be able to part ways normally. Only with such level of spiritual development can “unconditional love” exist. This is “unconditional love”. (Often people see UL as a love involving sacrifices. Which is not true.)

          4. And NO! Nihilism is the word used by those who are usually not acquainted with spirituality. Many people call it “pessimism”. Seeing everything as meaningless. But the thing is, a spiritually developed person does NOT see everything as meaningless. It’s another thing that others can’t see the meaningfulness which he sees!

          Recently I wrote this “Acknowledging the reality worse than your imagination is not pessimism. Pessimism is when you imagine worse than the reality.” I hope it sort of explains that what I am talking of is NOT “Nihilism”.

          We are having a convo after a long long time, Ketan. A lot has changed in my thinking. Surprisingly, on some issues where I disagreed with you I find myself agreeing now. And on the other hand, I am afraid, new “disagreements” too must have developed. Haha… It will go on…!

          Thanks!

            • I looked up “hedonism” and found it means “The pursuit of pleasure as a matter of ethical principle.” Of course, this is one thing in which I now agree with you, if you accommodate a slight modification of replacing the word “pleasure” by “comfort”. I guess it essentially would mean the same thing.

              Now, do you mean physical pleasure/comfort only? Or overall, which essentially includes comfort of the mind (spiritual comfort). Meaning, absence of suffering (of the mind). My model of spirituality is not averse to it. In fact, complete comfort in living and the joy of life is only felt when reality is seen and accepted as reality!

              That’s the essence!

              • Darshan,

                You have raised an important issue – pleasure v/s comfort. I think both are a bit difficult to separate from each other. Perhaps, pleasure is experienced in spurts, whereas comfort has to be sustained to be of any meaning. One more way both are related is, while comfort need not always give rise to pleasure, especially if one gets used to it, but lack of comfort, which can also be considered ‘discomfort’ is something that gives rise to pain. And usually, when a person is subjected to both pain and pleasure, I think pain tends to overwhelm the senses.

                So, hedonism would include pleasure as well as lack of discomfort/pain, which would automatically make the latter condition a kind of ‘comfort’.

                The second thing you’ve asked is also very important. Yes, I believe intellectual/emotional pleasure is also something to be aspired for. But that tends to be much more subjective than pleasure experienced through the sensory modalities. What logic-based puzzle I might enjoy owing to my finding it optimally difficult to solve, would be boring for someone significantly intelligent for me as well as for someone who finds it too difficult to solve. Likewise, there are different things that give us pleasure. Some find comfort in being valued for their ideas and their ideals, others find comfort in being praised for their looks/voice. And of course, most find comfort in being praised for anything if that praise is seen as sincere. And as I tried to explain in my previous comment, being loved and committed to is perhaps the highest and most sincere form of praise. So, the more ‘number’ of reasons I am liked for, the happier I would feel.

                I have deviated a bit from your original question. So, I must say that the pleasure and comfort experienced through sensory modalities is like ‘first order’ need, which is now reasonably easy for us to achieve through technology. It is the ‘second order’ needs that now need to be fulfilled that people are struggling towards. Everyone is able to fulfill these needs to varying degrees. So, if suddenly when people are so used to the fulfilled state of ‘first order’ comforts are weaned from them, they would suddenly find themselves experiencing second order comfort also. Of course, there could be exceptions to this observation, but ‘exception’ would be the operational term here.

                Hope, I could address what you had meant to ask with some coherence.

          • Darshan.

            Hehe! I read the post that you had linked. I think I have addressed most of your points there itself.

            As far as I see it, nihilism need not have a negative connotation when one realizes that not everything that exists needs to have a ‘purpose’. This concept presupposes and intelligent entity behind ‘creation’. Both the presuppositions “that everything that exists needs to be ‘created'” and “that such creation needs active intent and intelligence” are actually unfounded. That is how I look at nihilism. But yes, I’ve got so tuned to the human way of looking at things that I’m ever so tempted to believe that I am significant only if I serve some ‘purpose’, and that to be significant is somehow necessary. ๐Ÿ˜‰ There was a time when I realized that both such ‘obligations’ I felt were artificial and could be done away with. That was perhaps one of the developmental milestones in my ‘spiritual life’. Needless to say, my ability to work hard in dedicated fashion to ‘prove’ myself was significantly lost. But on the other hand I discovered a breathing space that I never knew existed.

            It is good that your ideas are in a flux. Unfortunately, mine haven’t changed significantly. Or perhaps, I have not been able to make out a significant change.

            Thanks for your comment, and especially so because it was on a somewhat personal note. ๐Ÿ™‚

            Take care.

    • ladynimue,

      Thanks and welcome!

      Glad, that you found the recounting humorous. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Please, recount the “crazy scenes” from your life. As it is, you were asking for blogging ideas! ๐Ÿ˜›

      Take care.

  7. “If you tell the Truth—You don’t have to remember anything.”

    Always love the honesty you carry in your genuine persona that always gets reflected in your writings.

    Thanks for sharing ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love and hugs

  8. Being the ‘master of unrequited love’ deprives me of the vantage to comment authentically as to what is the best principle when it comes to making/breaking relations. ๐Ÿ˜€ [The truth being that all the fine ladies for whom I harboured feelings had been possessed since….well, time immemorial :)]
    Nevertheless, I’m in cent percent concurrence with you when it comes to the ‘importance of being earnestly honest’.
    I thoroughly enjoyed the post: witticism and the honesty are your USP, as always. ๐Ÿ˜€
    P.S – And envious of you as always, for having won quite a few hearts. ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Take “Extra” Care…

    • Rohith,

      “The truth being that all the fine ladies for whom I harboured feelings had been possessed since….well, time immemorial”

      I ask you a simple question: you want to be the jack of all maids or master of none? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And had you been a bit on ‘this’ side of the sciences, and especially, chemistry, I would have told you a thing or two about ‘displacement reaction’. In fact, when people get married and get too comfortable with each other, they also indulge in ‘double displacement reaction’ (which for some weird reason is called ‘wife swapping’ and not ‘husband swapping’). But I undress oops… digress. ๐Ÿ˜›

      And Rohith, don’t yet concur (especially, cent per cent) with me on anything – the theory and practice of life are quite different unless and until you are a die-hard romantic (in the sense Ayn Rand meant it). ๐Ÿ™‚

      And I’m sure, either you’re being very secretive about your love life, or that you’re at wrong place to have not won more hearts than I did. Of course, I’ve had more number of years on my side to do that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks and you take care, too.

  9. Interesting.
    i could identify n recollect G3…but G1,G2??
    Ab tak toh tera G count double digit k numbers tak pahuch gaya hoga…

    • amita,

      Ma’am, welcome to the blog!

      G1 was the girl you knew from New Era High school. And G2 is someone who’d SMSed me during internship. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Hilarious. Complete honesty in any relationship is not such a great idea. Not that one should be dishonest, not at all. But silence is a huge virtue in a lot of relationship situations! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Sangitha,

      Welcome to the blog! Had somehow forgotten to respond to your comments, sorry about that.

      Well, “how much” honesty that is the problem. ๐Ÿ˜€ Yeah, I agree some of the things I did in my teenage were very silly. That’s why they find a place on my blog. But I guess, to keep on blogging I must keep on doing silly things. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  11. Pingback: 2010 in review – Courtesy: WordPress | Neglected Serendipity

Leave a Reply

